Nothing on this site is intended for human or veterinary use. PeptideBasics101 exists for general awareness: it collects publicly available information from across the internet and keeps it in one place for research and entertainment purposes only. Nothing here is medical advice. Statements here are our summaries of public sources and have not been reviewed or endorsed by the FDA or any regulatory body. This is information gathering, not guidance.

PeptideBasics101

peptide

MOTS-c

A 16-amino-acid peptide encoded in mitochondrial DNA, studied mainly in mice for effects on metabolism and exercise capacity; not approved anywhere, withdrawn from FDA's 503A Category 2 in 2026 and narrowly backed by an FDA advisory panel for compounding, with the first placebo-controlled human trial of the peptide started in 2026.

Data refreshed 2026-09-23 · Based on 8 published references

Names

Also called: mitochondrial open reading frame of the 12S rRNA type-c, MOTSc, MOTs-C, mitochondrial-derived peptide MOTS-c

Regulatory (US)

FDA approval: none

503A compounding: unknown

Molecule

Formula: C101H152N28O22S2

MW: 2174.6 g/mol

CAS: 1627580-64-6

PubChem entry

Sequence: Met-Arg-Trp-Gln-Glu-Met-Gly-Tyr-Ile-Phe-Tyr-Pro-Arg-Lys-Leu-Arg (MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR)

Origin

Discovered by: Changhan Lee, Pinchas Cohen and colleagues, University of Southern California, with UCLA and US National Institute on Aging collaborators

Year: 2015

What it is

MOTS-c is a short chain of 16 amino acids. What makes it unusual is where its recipe is kept: not in the main DNA in the cell’s nucleus, but in the small, separate set of DNA inside mitochondria, the structures that turn food into usable energy. Researchers found the recipe hidden inside a mitochondrial gene that was thought only to help build the cell’s protein-making machinery.

The body makes small amounts of MOTS-c on its own, and it can be measured in human blood. The version studied in laboratories is made synthetically. Most of what is known comes from mice and from cells in a dish, where it was reported to change how muscle handles sugar and fat. No medicine containing MOTS-c is approved anywhere.

MOTS-c (mitochondrial open reading frame of the 12S rRNA type-c) is a 16-residue peptide, MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR (C101H152N28O22S2, 2174.6 g/mol), encoded by a short open reading frame within MT-RNR1. It belongs to the mitochondrial-derived peptide family that also includes humanin. Endogenous MOTS-c is detectable in human and rodent plasma.

No cell-surface receptor has been identified. In the founding work its principal target tissue was skeletal muscle, where it inhibited the folate cycle and the linked de novo purine synthesis pathway, leading to AMPK activation. Under metabolic stress, MOTS-c was reported to translocate to the nucleus in an AMPK-dependent manner and to interact with stress-responsive transcription factors such as NRF2 (Kim et al., Cell Metab 2018).

In-vivo pharmacokinetics have not been published. FDA’s 2026 review found only an in-vitro study in which MOTS-c was rapidly cleaved in human whole blood into N-terminally truncated fragments (residues 2–16 to 5–16), and noted it is unknown whether injected peptide reaches active concentrations.

Who made it and when

MOTS-c was described in 2015 by Changhan Lee, Pinchas Cohen and colleagues at the University of Southern California, working with researchers at UCLA and the US National Institute on Aging. They found it by searching mitochondrial DNA for more hidden peptides like humanin, which Cohen’s laboratory had studied before.

Lee and Cohen were consultants to and shareholders of CohBar, a California company. CohBar did not develop MOTS-c itself; it designed a modified relative called CB4211 and tested it in a small human study that ended in 2021. In 2026 a company called Hudson Biotech registered the first placebo-controlled trial of MOTS-c itself, at a hospital in Shenzhen, China.

Lee et al. reported MOTS-c in Cell Metabolism in March 2015 after screening mtDNA for short open reading frames, prompted by the earlier identification of humanin. In mice, MOTS-c prevented high-fat-diet-induced obesity and insulin resistance and reversed age-dependent insulin resistance. Follow-up work from Lee’s laboratory described nuclear translocation (Kim et al., 2018) and effects on physical capacity across ages (Reynolds et al., Nat Commun 2021). The 2018 paper discloses that Lee consulted for and held shares in CohBar; the 2021 paper discloses the same for both Lee and Cohen.

CohBar, Inc. (Menlo Park, California) developed CB4211, which it described as “a novel and improved analog of MOTS-c”, and ran a Phase 1a/1b study (NCT03998514) from 2018 to 2021. No later-phase CB4211 trial has been registered. No compound patent covering MOTS-c could be verified for this article, so none is listed. The Phase 2a MOTS-MET trial (NCT07505745) is sponsored by Hudson Biotech at Peking University Shenzhen Hospital; Hudson Biotech also sponsors a 2026 BPC-157 trial at the same hospital.

What the data say

In mice, MOTS-c injections were reported to prevent weight gain and blood-sugar problems on a high-fat diet, and to improve running capacity in young, middle-aged and old animals. Those results come from animals and have not been confirmed in controlled human studies.

In people, the evidence so far is observational: MOTS-c levels in muscle and blood were measured and reported to rise after exercise. No results from any trial giving MOTS-c to humans have been published, and the FDA said in 2026 that it had found no human exposure data by any route. The first placebo-controlled trial, in 120 adults with prediabetes, began in 2026. A related but different molecule, CB4211, was tested for four weeks; liver fat fell by about the same amount on it as on placebo.

Animal data: Lee et al. (2015) reported that MOTS-c injections prevented diet-induced obesity and insulin resistance in mice. Reynolds et al. (2021) reported improved physical performance in mice aged 2, 12 and 22 months, and increased physical capacity when intermittent dosing three times weekly began at 23.5 months. Rodent studies summarised by FDA also report osteogenic effects and suppression of vascular calcification; FDA noted that none assessed dose-response, the molecular target is unknown, and no acute, repeat-dose, genotoxicity, reproductive or carcinogenicity studies exist.

Human data: exercise increased endogenous MOTS-c in human skeletal muscle and plasma (Reynolds et al.). FAERS searches through March 2025 retrieved no adverse-event reports. MOTS-MET (NCT07505745; Phase 2a; n=120 planned; subcutaneous once daily for 12 weeks; primary endpoint Matsuda insulin-sensitivity index) started on 2026-02-02.

Analogue data: in CB4211 Part C (NCT03998514), 20 adults with obesity and NAFLD received 25 mg subcutaneously once daily or placebo for 4 weeks. MRI-PDFF liver fat fell by a similar amount in both arms (5.03 versus 4.88 points); ALT (−21% versus +4% on placebo), AST and glucose reductions were reported as significant in a company release.

Regulatory picture

Three separate facts. Approval: no medicine containing MOTS-c is approved by the FDA or any other regulator. Compounding: in September 2023 the FDA put MOTS-c in “Category 2”, its list of ingredients that raise safety concerns for pharmacy compounding, saying it had found no human data at all. By April 2026 the FDA listed MOTS-c as withdrawn from that category by the pharmacy that had nominated it. In July 2026 an FDA advisory committee voted 7 to 5, with two abstentions (as reported by trade press), to recommend adding it to the list of allowed compounding ingredients, even though FDA staff had proposed not adding it. The vote is advice only; the FDA had not made a final decision when this was written. Sport: anti-doping databases list MOTS-c as prohibited.

Approval: none. No US IND-stage programme for MOTS-c itself could be verified; MOTS-MET lists a single Chinese site, and CB4211 is a distinct molecule.

Compounding: MOTS-c entered 503A Category 2 on 2023-09-29. The only nomination, from Wells Pharmacy Network, was withdrawn, and FDA’s safety-risk page (updated 2026-04-22) lists MOTs-C among substances previously in Category 2 withdrawn by their nominators. FDA nevertheless evaluated MOTS-c (free base) and MOTS-c acetate on its own initiative for the 2026-07-23 Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee. Its briefing concluded that the criteria weighed against inclusion: the substances were not well characterised, there were no nonclinical toxicology studies, and there were no human safety or effectiveness data. The committee voted 7–5 with two abstentions in favour. Inclusion in 21 CFR 216.23 would require notice-and-comment rulemaking, so this article records compounding status as unknown pending that decision.

Sport: FDA’s briefing notes that the Global DRO database lists MOTS-c as prohibited, drawing on the 2024 WADA Prohibited List class of hormone and metabolic modulators.

Doses reported in trials

Doses reported in studies, exactly as the cited trial reported them. They are not personal dosing instructions. Population, route and schedule matter more than the number.

TrialPhaseStatusPopulationDoseResult
MOTS-MET (Phase 2a)
NCT07505745
2Recruiting (started February 2026; primary completion estimated February 2027)120 adults aged 18–65 with prediabetes and a BMI of 27–40, planned; Peking University Shenzhen Hospital, ChinaSubcutaneous MOTS-c injection at a fixed dose once daily for 12 weeks versus matching placebo, with standardised lifestyle counselling; the registry does not state the milligram dose—
CB4211 Phase 1a/1b (CB4211 is a MOTS-c analogue, not MOTS-c itself)
NCT03998514
1Completed April 2021; no results posted on the registry88 participants; healthy non-obese adults in the ascending-dose parts, and 20 adults with obesity and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease in Part C; four US sitesSubcutaneous CB4211 in single and multiple ascending doses (levels not stated in the registry); Part C 25 mg once daily for 4 weeks versus placebo, per CohBarPart C: liver fat fell by a similar amount in both arms (5.03 vs 4.88 percentage points); ALT −21% vs +4% on placebo, AST −28% vs −11% and glucose −6% vs 0% reported as significant (p under 0.05); injection-site reactions the only adverse events in more than 10% of CB4211 recipients (CohBar press release, August 2021; not peer reviewed)

Enforcement history

Reported side effects

Not catalogued yet.

Interactions

Not catalogued yet.

Contraindications

Not catalogued yet.

Storage

No approved product exists, so there is no label storage data. FDA's 2026 review cites literature describing lyophilized MOTS-c as stable when kept frozen, dry and protected from light; those are supplier and literature statements, not verified product data.

Product characteristics

Form: Synthetic linear peptide, free base or acetate salt (research grade lyophilized powder)

Solubility: Reported in the literature as water-soluble; FDA's 2026 review found no quantitative solubility data for the free base

Compound information

Synthetic 16-residue peptide. FDA's 2026 review described both the free base and acetate as not well characterised, with no public data on impurities, aggregates or endotoxin. No safety data sheet from a regulated drug manufacturer was found.

References

This page summarises the published sources below. PeptideBasics101 does no original research. Trial doses and results are reported as the cited study or label reported them. Sources can themselves be wrong or superseded; if you find a statement here that does not match its source, please tell us through our corrections process. Sources were last checked on 2026-09-23.

  1. Lee C et al. The mitochondrial-derived peptide MOTS-c promotes metabolic homeostasis and reduces obesity and insulin resistance. Cell Metab 2015 (pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)
  2. Reynolds JC et al. MOTS-c is an exercise-induced mitochondrial-encoded regulator of age-dependent physical decline and muscle homeostasis. Nat Commun 2021 (pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)
  3. FDA briefing document: MOTS-c-related bulk drug substances, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, July 23–24, 2026 (fda.gov)
  4. FDA: certain bulk drug substances for use in compounding that may present significant safety risks (Category 2 and withdrawn substances) (fda.gov)
  5. FDA: July 23–24, 2026 meeting of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee (fda.gov)
  6. PharmExec: FDA panel votes to loosen restrictions for four peptides (July 24, 2026) (pharmexec.com)
  7. CohBar, Inc. press release filed with the SEC: topline results from the Phase 1a/1b study of CB4211 (August 10, 2021) (sec.gov)
  8. PubChem: MOTS-c (CID 146675088) (pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)

Clinical trial entries in the table above link to their ClinicalTrials.gov registry records. Spotted an error? See corrections.

Ask Sgt. Pep