Nothing on this site is intended for human or veterinary use. PeptideBasics101 exists for general awareness: it collects publicly available information from across the internet and keeps it in one place for research and entertainment purposes only. Nothing here is medical advice. Statements here are our summaries of public sources and have not been reviewed or endorsed by the FDA or any regulatory body. This is information gathering, not guidance.

PeptideBasics101

peptide

Human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG)

The pregnancy hormone, purified from urine or made recombinantly, FDA approved as Pregnyl, Novarel, Ovidrel and generics for ovulation induction, male hypogonadotropic hypogonadism and prepubertal cryptorchidism; its urinary-hCG labels state it has not been shown effective for weight loss, and since March 2020 it is regulated as a biologic that US pharmacies may not compound.

Data refreshed 2026-09-24 · Based on 8 published references

Names

Generic: chorionic gonadotropin (urinary); choriogonadotropin alfa (recombinant)

Brands: Pregnyl, Novarel, Ovidrel

Also called: hCG, HCG, human chorionic gonadotrophin, chorionic gonadotropin, r-hCG, choriogonadotropin alfa

Regulatory (US)

FDA approval: approved

503A compounding: restricted

Novarel — Prepubertal cryptorchidism not due to anatomic obstruction; selected cases of hypogonadotropic hypogonadism in males; induction of ovulation and pregnancy in anovulatory infertile women (US, 1974)

Pregnyl — Prepubertal cryptorchidism not due to anatomic obstruction; selected cases of hypogonadotropic hypogonadism in males; induction of ovulation and pregnancy in anovulatory infertile women (US, 1976)

Ovidrel — Induction of final follicular maturation and early luteinisation in infertile women undergoing assisted reproductive technology or ovulation induction (US, 2000)

Molecule

CAS: 9002-61-3

Sequence: Heterodimeric glycoprotein: an α subunit of 92 amino acids, shared in structure with LH and FSH, and a hormone-specific β subunit of 145 amino acids, both glycosylated (Ovidrel label)

Origin

Discovered by: Selmar Aschheim and Bernhard Zondek, Berlin (detected in pregnancy urine)

Year: 1927

Developer: Urinary products: Organon (Pregnyl), Ferring (Novarel) and generic makers; recombinant: EMD Serono (Ovidrel)

What it is

Human chorionic gonadotropin, or hCG, is the hormone that pregnancy tests detect. The placenta makes it in early pregnancy to keep the ovary producing the hormones that sustain the pregnancy. It acts on the same receptor as LH, the pituitary hormone that triggers ovulation in women and tells the testes to make testosterone in men.

That shared action is the basis of its approved medical roles. It is approved in the United States to trigger ovulation in fertility treatment, to stimulate the testes in men whose pituitary does not make enough LH, and to help undescended testicles move down in young boys.

Unlike most substances on this site, hCG is a large protein with sugar chains attached, not a short peptide. The urinary hCG labels state that it has not been shown to be effective for weight loss.

hCG is a heterodimeric glycoprotein of a 92-residue α subunit, common in structure to LH and FSH, and a 145-residue β subunit that confers specificity; both carry N- and O-linked glycans, and a C-terminal extension of the β subunit is reported to prolong its circulation relative to LH. It is a full agonist at the LH/choriogonadotropin receptor (LHCGR), a Gs-coupled receptor on ovarian theca and granulosa-lutein cells and testicular Leydig cells. Activation raises cAMP and drives steroidogenesis; in the pre-ovulatory follicle it induces final oocyte maturation, resumption of meiosis and follicular rupture, and in men it stimulates testosterone production and, indirectly, spermatogenesis.

Pharmacokinetics (Ovidrel label, recombinant hCG 250 µg subcutaneously): peak concentration at 12–24 hours, bioavailability about 40% and a terminal half-life of about 29 hours. Urinary products are dosed in USP units, recombinant product in micrograms; 250 µg recombinant hCG was judged equivalent to 10,000 units of urinary hCG in the trial that supported Ovidrel.

Who made it and when

In 1927 two Berlin gynaecologists, Selmar Aschheim and Bernhard Zondek, found that urine from pregnant women made immature female mice come into heat. That observation became the first reliable pregnancy test, and the substance behind it was later identified as hCG, a hormone made by the placenta.

For decades the medicine was purified from the urine of pregnant women. In the United States, Ferring’s Novarel dates from 1974 and Organon’s Pregnyl from 1976, with other generic versions. A recombinant version made in cultured hamster cells, Ovidrel from EMD Serono, was approved in 2000. In March 2020 US law reclassified all these products as biological products.

Aschheim and Zondek described the gonadotropic activity of pregnancy urine in 1927, the basis of the A-Z bioassay; they attributed it to the pituitary, and later work showed it came from the placenta. Urinary hCG was developed into injectable products; FDA’s deemed-BLA list gives initial NDA approval dates of 1974-01-15 for Novarel (NDA 017016, Ferring) and 1976-10-20 for Pregnyl (NDA 017692, Organon), alongside other urinary products from Fresenius Kabi and others. Ovidrel (choriogonadotropin alfa, NDA 021149, EMD Serono) followed on 2000-09-20.

A transition provision of the Biologics Price Competition and Innovation Act of 2009 provided that on 2020-03-23 approved applications for biological products under section 505 of the FD&C Act would be deemed licences under section 351 of the PHS Act. All hCG and choriogonadotropin alfa applications appear on FDA’s transition list, which gives their former NDA numbers; the current Pregnyl label carries a US biologics licence number. No current compound patent applies to urinary hCG.

What the data say

For its approved fertility uses, hCG has decades of clinical experience and label data behind it. In an IVF trial of about 300 women, the recombinant version triggered egg maturation as well as the standard urinary product. A 2005 study of 29 healthy men given testosterone, which shuts down the body’s own LH, reported that low doses of hCG every other day for three weeks kept testosterone levels inside the testes within the normal range.

The weight-loss story is the opposite. A diet plan known as the Simeons method combined hCG injections with a very-low-calorie diet. Controlled trials, such as a 1976 study of 51 women on a 500-calorie diet, found no extra weight loss from hCG compared with placebo injections on the same diet. A 1995 review of 24 studies concluded there was no scientific evidence that hCG is effective in treating obesity. The FDA has said that any weight lost comes from the severe calorie restriction, not from hCG.

Fertility: Chang et al. (Fertil Steril 2001) randomised 297 ovulatory women undergoing IVF to recombinant hCG 250 µg SC, 500 µg SC or urinary hCG 10,000 USP units IM; mean oocytes retrieved were 13.6, 14.6 and 13.7, with more fertilised oocytes but a trend to more adverse events at 500 µg. The Ovidrel label reports clinical pregnancy in 35.1% per initiated ART cycle and ovulation in 91.9% in ovulation-induction trials.

Male physiology: Coviello et al. (JCEM 2005) gave 29 men testosterone enanthate 200 mg weekly plus hCG 125, 250 or 500 IU every other day or placebo for 3 weeks. LH and FSH fell to 5% and 3% of baseline; intratesticular testosterone ended 25% below, 7% below and 26% above baseline, respectively.

Obesity: Stein et al. (Am J Clin Nutr 1976; n=51 women, double-blind, 32 days) repeated the 500 kcal diet of a 1973 positive study with hCG or placebo injections and found no difference in weight loss, girth or hunger. Lijesen et al. (Br J Clin Pharmacol 1995) scored 8 controlled and 16 uncontrolled trials; of the 12 better-quality studies only one reported benefit, and the authors found no evidence that hCG causes weight loss or fat redistribution.

Regulatory picture

Three separate facts. Approval: hCG is FDA approved, by prescription and by injection, for fertility treatment, certain men with low pituitary hormone output, and undescended testicles in boys. It is not approved for weight loss, and no hCG product is approved for use without a prescription. Compounding: since March 2020 hCG has been regulated as a biological product, and the FDA told pharmacies that biological products cannot be compounded under the usual pharmacy rules; they can only be mixed or diluted under narrow conditions. Enforcement: in 2011 the FDA and the Federal Trade Commission warned seven companies selling “homeopathic” hCG diet drops, and the FDA has warned consumers to avoid hCG diet products.

Approval: approved. Urinary hCG (Pregnyl, Novarel and generics) is labelled for prepubertal cryptorchidism not due to anatomic obstruction, selected hypogonadotropic hypogonadism in males, and ovulation induction in anovulatory women pretreated with gonadotropins; Ovidrel for final follicular maturation in ART and ovulation induction. The urinary hCG labels state in capitals that hCG has not been demonstrated to be effective adjunctive therapy in the treatment of obesity, with no substantial evidence of weight loss beyond caloric restriction or of effects on fat distribution or hunger.

Compounding: recorded as restricted. FDA’s 2020-03-05 notice named human chorionic gonadotropin among four bulk substances affected by the transition and stated that biological products are not eligible for the section 503A and 503B exemptions. FDA’s 2018 guidance on mixing, diluting or repackaging biological products outside the scope of a BLA describes limited conditions for manipulating a licensed product; it does not permit compounding from bulk hCG.

Enforcement: the 2011-12-06 joint FDA and FTC action targeted over-the-counter “homeopathic” hCG products; FDA’s consumer update (2020) states that hCG is not approved for weight loss or for use without a prescription. In sport, WADA’s 2026 list prohibits chorionic gonadotrophin in males under S2.2.1.

Doses reported in trials

Doses reported in studies, exactly as the cited trial reported them. They are not personal dosing instructions. Population, route and schedule matter more than the number.

TrialPhaseStatusPopulationDoseResult
Double-blind test of hCG with a very-low-calorie diet
Stein 1976
N/ACompleted (published 1976)51 women with obesity aged 18–60Injections of hCG or placebo (28 injections over 32 days) alongside the 500-calorie diet of the earlier Asher-Harper study; the abstract does not state the hCG doseNo difference between hCG and placebo in weight loss, hip and waist circumference, or hunger (Stein et al., Am J Clin Nutr 1976)
Recombinant hCG (Ovidrel) versus urinary hCG in IVF
Chang 2001
N/ACompleted (published 2001)297 ovulatory infertile women undergoing one cycle of assisted reproduction at 20 US centresRecombinant hCG 250 µg or 500 µg subcutaneously, or urinary hCG 10,000 USP units intramuscularly, once after gonadotropin stimulationMean oocytes retrieved 13.6, 14.6 and 13.7; 250 µg recombinant hCG judged equivalent to 10,000 units urinary hCG (Chang et al., Fertil Steril 2001)
Low-dose hCG and intratesticular testosterone
Coviello 2005
N/ACompleted (published 2005)29 healthy men given testosterone enanthate 200 mg weeklyhCG 125, 250 or 500 IU every other day for 3 weeks, or saline placebo; the abstract does not state the routeIntratesticular testosterone ended 25% below baseline at 125 IU, 7% below at 250 IU and 26% above at 500 IU (Coviello et al., JCEM 2005)

Enforcement history

Reported side effects

Interactions

Not catalogued yet.

Contraindications

Storage

Unopened: The Novarel label states room temperature, 20–25 °C (68–77 °F), before reconstitution.

Reconstituted / in use: The Novarel label states refrigeration at 2–8 °C (36–46 °F) after reconstitution and use within 30 days.

Ovidrel is a ready-to-use prefilled syringe; its label states refrigeration at 2–8 °C (36–46 °F) until dispensed, after which it may be kept at up to 25 °C (77 °F) for at most 30 days. Pregnyl's label states 15–30 °C before reconstitution and refrigerated use within 60 days after. Products sold as hCG outside a pharmacy have no label storage data.

Product characteristics

Form: Urinary hCG: lyophilised powder in USP units, reconstituted for intramuscular injection (Pregnyl, Novarel). Recombinant hCG: 250 µg in a prefilled syringe for subcutaneous injection (Ovidrel)

Stability: Ovidrel label: half-life about 29 hours, peak levels 12–24 hours after subcutaneous injection, bioavailability about 40%

Compound information

A large glycoprotein hormone, not a short synthetic peptide. Urinary products are purified from the urine of pregnant women; Ovidrel is produced in genetically modified Chinese hamster ovary cells. Potency is expressed in USP units for urinary products and micrograms for the recombinant product.

References

This page summarises the published sources below. PeptideBasics101 does no original research. Trial doses and results are reported as the cited study or label reported them. Sources can themselves be wrong or superseded; if you find a statement here that does not match its source, please tell us through our corrections process. Sources were last checked on 2026-09-24.

  1. Novarel (chorionic gonadotropin) prescribing information (DailyMed, rev. 05/2023) (dailymed.nlm.nih.gov)
  2. Pregnyl (chorionic gonadotropin) prescribing information (FDA label, 2023) (accessdata.fda.gov)
  3. Ovidrel (choriogonadotropin alfa) prescribing information (DailyMed) (dailymed.nlm.nih.gov)
  4. FDA: notice to compounders, changes that affect compounding as of March 23, 2020 (fda.gov)
  5. FDA: list of approved NDAs for biological products deemed to be BLAs on March 23, 2020 (fda.gov)
  6. FDA news release: FDA, FTC act to remove homeopathic HCG weight loss products from the market (December 6, 2011) (ftc.gov)
  7. FDA consumer update: avoid dangerous HCG diet products (fda.gov)
  8. Lijesen GK et al. The effect of hCG in the treatment of obesity by means of the Simeons therapy: a criteria-based meta-analysis. Br J Clin Pharmacol 1995 (pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov)

Clinical trial entries in the table above link to their ClinicalTrials.gov registry records. Spotted an error? See corrections.

Ask Sgt. Pep